Member Spotlight: The Disappearing Joey Dodd

Posted: August 14, 2007 by Xtreme Couture MMA in Joe Dodd, member spotlight

The photo on the left is a 230-lb Joey Dodd in late November of 2006. On the right is Joey today, tipping the scales at 185-lbs. He did it with incredibly hard work in the gym and a new diet. We had the chance to chat with Joey. Here’s what he had to say.

How many days a week do you work out?

Six. I do three days here at Xtreme Couture doing jiu jitsu and the MMA class. I do the other three days in the gym. I lift weights and do cardio. I hit every body part one time per week and do cardio in conjunction with that body part on the same day.

How has your diet changed?

I eat six meals a day. Basically one meal every three hours. Usually three of the six meals are a ready to drink protein shake or a protein bar.

What made you get on this program?

Old age. I turned 38 and I didn’t want to die at an early age. I also want to be energetic and play with my grandkids one day.

Your son works out at the gym too.

Yeah. He loves it. He wants to be a pro when he grows up.

What has been the reaction of people at work?

They all say, “that’s amazing”. People say unless I knew that was you before, I wouldn’t believe the before and after pictures. It looks like the pictures have been enhanced. (Editor’s note: the pictures were not enhanced)

What is your target weight?

I started at 230-lbs last December. The before picture is from November of ’06, but I didn’t really start working out until late December, really early January. That’s when I got serious about it. I got down to 185 in May and that’s where I am now. I’d like to take off another five or ten pounds and be about 175-lbs to 180-lbs.

Comments
  1. Joey Dodd Jr. says:

    GO DAD!!!!!!!!

  2. Drew says:

    Could someone please provide the diet that Mr. Dobb’s used? That is absolutely amazing.

  3. Drew says:

    Also his exercise plan.

    Thanks in advance.

  4. Eric Henry says:

    Dude, Great job. You and I talked about how your doing but you have done bitchen!!!!! Keep up the good work and remember I can still kick your ass!!!! Just kidden. Keep up the good work!!!!!!

  5. Michaela says:

    Joey, awesome job! Way to go brother!

  6. splatinc says:

    dude that kid is friggin scary man

  7. Stewart Rhodes says:

    Highly cool! Congratulations Joey. This is motivating me to get my off my fat butt and do the same.

    PS My kids are in class with your son, and are having a blast.

  8. AK says:

    Wow. This is a wakeup call. I’m a similar age, and look like your before picture. Currently sitting on my ass drinking a cab sav.

    Great work, inspirational.

  9. Monika says:

    Hey You look great like always I hope you remember me (your 30 birthday at The Beach Club in 1999 ) never forget. Keep like that.

  10. Michaela says:

    Hey little brother! I’m showing off your picture to my friend Joe. You still inspire me! I still want to be like you! Love from your big sister, Michaela

  11. monika says:

    oh
    my name is Monika I was staying at Mandalay Bay at 1999? with my friend Sylwia You should remember I think I left you the note on 06.18.09
    We spend some time with you and your friend Johny(not sure) I have such a good memory from this time if You not sure I can send You some pictures of us nice ones , Monika

  12. Joey Dodd says:

    Monika I do remember you and your friend Sylwia. Please email(joeyd@suncityls.com) me some pictures and what is your last name?

    • Anonymous says:

      joey its michelle , john’s lil sis… my son is doing mma 2xs a week … he feels that he should be going everyday… what do u think… keep n mind hes n basketball …. long time no talk.. home all is going good…

  13. Monika says:

    Hello Joey so good to hear from You. How is Your life I ?hope is really good. i will always missing you. For all of my life.always remember best day of my life …. With yòu…

  14. Anonymous says:

    Joey
    i wish to hear from you long time but ….

    Please

Leave a Reply

