Hieron Focused on Riggs

Posted: January 23, 2010 by Xtreme Couture MMA in Jay Hieron
Tags:

Jay Hieron fights Joe Riggs on Jan. 30 at Strikeforce: Miami at the BankAtlantic Center in Sunrise, Fla. The welterweight title contender says he is happy with Riggs as an opponent, not letting his focus waiver.

Hieron was lined up to fight Nick Diaz for the Strikeforce welterweight crown last August, but when Diaz failed to take a drug screening to get his license in California, Hieron instead went on to defeat Jesse Taylor on the preliminary card that night.

Offered a fight with Dream titleholder Marius Zaromskis, Hieron turned down the bout citing Zaromskis’ lack of name value in America. He feels Riggs is the more well-known competitor.

“I mean me and him (Riggs) are the only two other guys in Strikeforce with names, and at this point in my career that’s who I need to fight,” said the Xtreme Couture trained athlete. “I need to fight names because after the fight I want my stock to go up. It’s that point for me already. It’s unfortunate with Riggs, but come fight day it’s all business.”

A bout with Diaz or Zaromskis is likely to happen for Hieron if he gets past Riggs, but the 33-year-old veteran isn’t distracted by future possibilities. He’s solely focused on Riggs.

“I’m not looking past Riggs. He’s definitely somebody that’s been around the game for a minute on the top level. It’s an exciting fight,” said Hieron. “I’m not looking past nothing. I’ve got great sparring partners right now and southpaw. I’m feeling real good right now, so come fight night I’ll be ready to go.”

Riggs is known for his heavy hands, but Hieron knows there’s much more than meets the eye with the crafty Arizonian.

“(Riggs’) got some wrestling skills. He’s got some jits skills. I mean he’s well-rounded. If you go into a fight thinking about one thing, it’s probably going to end early,” he commented. “I’ve got a well-rounded game and I’m going out there and try to put it all together.

“Everything is on the money right now. I’m sharp. My head’s good. I’m healthy, and that’s all I could ask for right now. Everything is going well. I’m peaking right. I’m excited to be a part of the show on the 30th. Fighting solves everything.”

MAIN CARD
NICK DIAZ VS MARIUS ZAROMSKIS
CRISTIANE CYBORG SANTOS VS MARLOES COENEN
ROBBIE LAWLER VS MELVIN MANHOEF
HERSCHEL WALKER VS GREG NAGY
BOBBY LASHLEY VS WES SIMS

PRELIM CARD
JAY HIERON VS JOE RIGGS
PABLO ALFONSO VS MARCOS DAMATTA
DAVID ZITNIK VS MICHAEL BYRNES
SABAH HOMASI VS JOHN KELLY
CRAIG OXLEY VS DAVID GOMEZ
RYAN KEENAN VS HAYDER HASSAN

TIME
SATURDAY, JANUARY 30, 2010 – 10:00PM/ET (PRELIMS AT 7:30PM)

HOW TO WATCH
LIVE ON SHOWTIME – IN CANADA ON SUPERCHANNEL

Comments
  1. Shane says:

    as much as I would love to be from a place called “Arizonia”, we are actually referred to as Arizonans!

    “Riggs is known for his heavy hands, but Hieron knows there’s much more than meets the eye with the crafty Arizonian.”

Leave a Reply

