UFC 115 – Evan Dunham talks about facing Xtreme Couture training partner, Tyson Griffin in Vancouver

Posted: June 4, 2010 by Xtreme Couture MMA in Tyson Griffin
Tags: , ,

UFC lightweight up-and-comer, Evan Dunham has been speaking today about the odd situation he faces next weekend in Vancouver, Canada where he’ll take on Xtreme Couture team mate, Tyson Griffin on the main card of the evening.

Speaking via CagePotato.com,, Dunham said:

“Tyson and I are training buds. We don’t go and hang out with each other outside of the gym. I don’t really hang out with many people outside the gym (laughs) to tell you the truth. I like to go get my work done and go home. As fighters I think he knows me a lot since he helped me a whole lot in my fight against Aurelio since he had fought Aurelio before. Stylistically I know him very well. I know he likes to stand. He’s got great hands, he’s got great kicks. He’s a scrapper on the ground, he’s got great wrestling defense. I think we know each other very well. And he’s able to compare notes on me with our other training partners out there. They know what to expect and I know what to expect.”

“I think you just have to look at it very generally. You can’t look at just one day, or what has worked for and against him in the past. You have to look at the broad picture of it. You have to look at his overall tendencies and my overall tendencies and where his and my strengths and weaknesses lie.”

On what he feels will be the biggest factor on the night, Dunham said:

“Conditioning. Both of us like to push the pace. He’s a very aggressive fighter and so am I. He knows that I have a very hard work ethic so I think that he and Jake Bonacci are going to work very hard on that for him. There is no doubt in my mind that they are training very hard knowing that I’m not going to give up, that I’m going to be there in the third round. I expect the same out of him. He will go all day.”

Dunham was the man responsible for bursting the bubble of “Ultimate Fighter” season eight winner, Efrain Escudero last time out, submitting him in the third round.

By Michael Pepper. MMA Bay
Leave a Reply

